By any reasonable, objective measure, New Jersey was having a pretty good employee-rights run in 2018 — even by NJ standards. Continue reading
[UPDATED (12:30 PM Eastern): I made a few mistakes in the original post that I am correcting now. First, the link to the paid sick leave law was to a prior version of the law. I corrected that with an updated link. Second, employees can accrue a maximum of 40 hours of paid sick leave per year, not 72 as mentioned in the original post. I have corrected that as well. I apologize for the mistakes and any confusion they may have created. I also clarified the accrual rules. Fortunately, the new law doesn’t take effect for 180 days. So, there is still time to prepare.]
On the heels of passing the strongest equal pay law in the entire nation, New Jersey has outdone itself.
California, eat your heart out. New Jersey has done it again by passing a new law requiring paid sick leave for employees. Continue reading
Well, mark your calendars for July 1, 2018.
Back in August 2014, New Jersey Governor Chris Christie signed “The Opportunity to Compete Act”, also known as Ban the Box. This made it unlawful for companies with 15 or more employees to advertise that people with criminal records need to apply. Covered companies also cannot inquire about criminal history, from the time an applicant inquires about an opening until the first job interview is completed.
Last month, Governor Christie affixed his signature to bipartisan legislation, which closes some loopholes in the law:
Now, the law is clear that online inquiries into an applicant’s criminal history are forbidden. Also, to the extent that employers were asking about expunged criminal records, well, those are now off limits too.